iPhone 3GS 32GB

You can find hundreds of unboxing photos and videos, thousands of reviews, benchmark comparisons, and even more sites on the list of features firmware 3.0 and the new 3GS have. I won’t bore you with that sort of thing. This is more of my impression of the phone.

iPhone 3GS

iPhone 3GS

I wasn’t going to upgrade from my 3G to the 3Gs. Not because I didn’t want to, but because I was not yet eligible through AT&T for the phone, and I couldn’t justify paying full price for more ram, a video camera, voice controls, a compass, and a slight speed bump. I actually had to convince myself I didn’t want to the new phone, and it worked. Until I got the message, that AT&T was allowing me to get the subsidized price, early. I was going to get my new 3GS with the slight speed bump.

Wait… Did I just say “slight speed bump?”

Holy crap. It’s like going from a Yugo to a Ferrari. This thing SCREAMS. From booting, to launching applications, and loading games, this is a huge difference. Launching a game like the Sims at the same time on a 3G and a 3GS… Let’s just say you’re playing the same at least 60 to 90 seconds sooner. I know this doesn’t seem like much, and believe me, I didn’t it would be either, until I sat down to compare the 2 phones. Websites load faster. Sometimes by twice as fast. Just for the speed alone I would have upgraded.

The video rocks. Good quality, easy to use. Awesome addition. The camera is better, and takes better pictures. It’s still lacking a bit in the dark side of things, but overall, an improvement. Compass… Check. it works. Great, I will now always know where north is. Not something to upgrade for, but cool to have.

The 32GB is the main reason I wanted to upgrade. I was always at full capacity on my 16GB and wanted to add more. All music, and apps. No video. Now, I have room for video.

The iPhone 3GS is a powerhouse. I can’t stress enough, if you own the 3G, upgrade as soon as you can. Even if you don’t think you need to, do it. You’ll be happy you did. I know I am.

Now, we just have to wait for AT&T to catch up with the rest of the world, and turn on the MMS and Tethering functions for the iPhone.

Leave a Reply

