Moshi Palmguard for 15″ Unibody MacBook Pro

My original Mac Powerbook fell victim to the infamous black pitting on the aluminum in the palm rest area. I bothered me to no end, so when I bought my first Intel MacBook Pro, I picked up a Marware palm rest. It was grey, thick and cushy, but I didn’t case as long as it protected the metal from my obviously acidic hands. Damn my acidic hands…

Picking up  new unibody MacBook Pro, there was no way in hell I was going to let pitting happen, but at the same time this machine is so beautiful, I didn’t want to attach a semi-ugly palm guard.

Enter the MacRumors forum.

Looking at the forums in my daily stop, I found a thread about the Moshi Palmguard. People were all talking very highly about it, so I decided to check it out online. They claim the color matches the aluminum perfectly, and it was thinner then the old Mareware. I bit the bullet, and purchased it.

It arrived in only a few short days. Shipping was very fast. My first impressions to the packaging was positive. It was a very sturdy cardboard sleeve, protecting the palm guard from bending or creasing. nice touch.

 

Moshi Palmguard

Moshi Palmguard

 

 

I instantly placed it on the laptop, leaving the adhesive strip on the guard just to see the color match. Holy shit, it’s ALMOST perfect. Time to apply…

The adhesive is very strong on the guard, and will stick with little effort, so when putting it on, and being that I’m a perfectionist freak when it comes to this sort of thing, I took a few minutes to figure out how I would do this so it was perfect. Bulls eye. Dead on.

It applied easily, because the material is a harder, more rigid material. Sort of like a credit card of half the thickness. It has a slight texture to it as well, almost the same as the aluminum itself. The cut on this is perfect. It covers edge to edge, and very accurate with the notch for lifting the screen lid, and for the trackpad itself.

The only mark on it, is a very small “moshi” logo in the lower right hand corner, and it’s in a slightly darker grey that the aluminum, so you really have to look for it to notice it. It blends in so well, it’s hard to tell you’re using one at a glance.

It also came with a trackpad guard. I chose not to use this. Some people say the track pad has less sensitivity with it on, but testing it, I kept the adhesive cover on the back of it, and just laid in on top of the track pad, and it worked perfectly for me. No performance issues. The reason I chose not to use it, is it has the same texture as the palm guard does, and I really love the smooth glass feeling of the track pad itself. I didn’t want to lose that, so I left it off. What is nice, when you do place the track pad guard in place, everything sits flush.

The Moshi Palmguard rocks. I not only HIghly recommend this, but I insist you check it out, or I’ll send Bobby Lupo to your house.

One Response to Moshi Palmguard for 15″ Unibody MacBook Pro

  1. nashguy says:

    How has the Moshi survived? I think I have hands like yours, and my fear is that I’ll end up with the Moshi simply looking all dirty and discolored from hands. Granted, better than the metal of the laptop, but still.

Leave a Reply

