Apple MacBook Pro

After almost 3 years of daily use, at almost 12 hours a day, my 15″ MacBook Pro began to give me trouble. I was in the market for a new one, and while the new upcoming 17″ unibody was tempting, all of my sleeves and cases fit the 15″. I use the RadTech sleeve, and place the MacBook into a Matias Laptop Armor case when I travel, so I decided to stick with the trusted 15″ model.

I have several local Apple stores in my are, but due to credit, I went to my local Micro Center instead, who has a great Mac department. I’ve been admiring the newly designed Unibody MacBook Pros since their debut a few months back. I went with the 2.53 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo. It comes stock with 4 GB of ram, and a 320 GB HD, so I felt the extra bump in price was worth it. Included with every Mac I buy, I pick up the Apple care to extend the service up to 3 years.

I’ll spare you all the technical details of this machine, as you could google that, or just go to the Apple page, and get all the info you need. This review is more of an observation. And let me tell you, It’s going to read like a HUGE fanboy.

 

MacBook Pro

MacBook Pro

 

This has got to be, without a doubt, the most impressive and beautiful machine I’ve ever purchased. I simply love the unibody design, and the rounded corners. The black border around the screen is very classy looking, and I live the black keys on the keyboard. It’s head and shoulders above the previous model.

There are 2 disappointing features for me though. The screen, as I’m sure you already know, only comes in glossy. While the screen is bright, and crisp, sometimes the glare is overpowering. Being a graphic designer, it can become distracting while working. I have looked on line, and found companies who make an antiglare film for the screen, much like the anti fingerprint screen cover on the iPhone. I’m not sure if I’ll do that yet, but I may consider it if I can’t get used to the reflection.

The second is the lack of a Firewire 400 port. It does have an 800, but this doesn’t help me out of the box. All my external hard drives are Firewire, so this is incredibly disappointing. I have purchased a small thumb drive drive 800 to 400 converter from Sonnets, so that should eliminate my problem. I’ll review that what it arrives.

The speed on this machine is quite noticeable when I compare it to my older MacBook Pro. Using graphic programs a lit, a nice feature is to chose what processor I was to use. Better graphics, or better battery life. Since I keep the machine plugged in 90% of the time, I opt for the faster processor.

This feels very solid, and weighs less then I expected. It’s slightly wider then the previous model, but only by a couple of millimeters. 

The multi touch trackpad features are fantastic, especially when using Photoshop. I love the smother glass trackpad as well, and the loss of the click button is genius. 

I can go on and on on how great this is, but I’ll stop now. If you’re in the market for a new Mac, you can’t go wrong with the new MacBook Pro. It’s solid, beautiful, powerful, and in my opinion, the best Mac I’ve ever owned.

4.75 out of 5. No Firewire 400 and no matt screen option keeps this from a perfect 5.

Leave a Reply

